Kash Farooq's software development blog

.NET Developer

MongoDB in C#: Mapping IDs

Posted by Kash Farooq on March 4, 2012

In my previous post about C# and MongoDB, I polluted my domain model with a MongoDB type:

public class Movie
{
  public BsonObjectId Id { get; set; }
  public string Title { get; set; }
  public string Year { get; set; }

  etc
}

When you Insert a document into MongoDB using the C# driver, the driver needs to check to see if the Id has a value. It assigns one if it doesn’t. The above code worked because I used a MongoDB C# driver ID type – the driver could work out what my ID property is. But I don’t really want to use BsonObjectId in this class – it ties me to MongoDB. Instead, you can use a built-in .NET type for the ID property and tell the MongoDB C# driver about it.

First, let’s change the type of the Id property. I’ve gone for a string but there are other types you could use:

public class Movie
{
  public string Id { get; set; }
  public string Title { get; set; }
  public string Year { get; set; }

  etc
}

Now, you need to map that property. I’m doing this code in an NUnit test, so I’m going to do the mapping in the TestFixtureSetUp:

[TestFixtureSetUp]
public void TestFixtureSetUp()
{
  BsonClassMap.RegisterClassMap<Movie>(cm => {
                                              cm.AutoMap();
                                              cm.SetIdMember(cm.GetMemberMap(x => x.Id).SetIdGenerator(StringObjectIdGenerator.Instance));
                                             }
                                       );
}

So, I’ve told the MongoDB C# driver that the ID column is Movie.Id and that it needs to use its built in StringObjectIdGenerator to generate IDs.

There are several ID generators built into the driver:

  • BsonObjectIdGenerator
  • CombGuidGenerator
  • GuidGenerator
  • NullIdChecker
  • ObjectIdGenerator
  • StringObjectIdGenerator
  • ZeroIdChecker<T>

Read the CSharp Driver Serialization Tutorial for more information about these generators and mapping them to properties.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

